Leonhard Euler

euler2.jpg

 euler1.jpg

 

Born                April 15, 1707
Basel, Switzerland

Died                September 7, 1783
St Petersburg, Russia

Residence       Prussia    Russia  
Switzerland

Nationality      Swiss

Field               Mathematics and physics

Religion          Lutheran

Hi my name is Leonhard Euler. I was born in Basel,Switzerland on April 15, 1707. My family moved fromBasel to Riehen when I was only a year old. It was in Riehen that I was brought up and spent most of my childhood years. I started my formal education in Basel, where I was sent to live with my maternal grandmother. At the age of thirteen I entered theUniversity ofBasel inSwitzerland. In 1723, I received a master of philosophy degree with a thesis that compared the philosophies of Descartes and Newton. At that time, I was receiving Saturday afternoon lessons from Johann Bernoulli, who quickly discovered my incredible talent for mathematics. 

 I spent most of my life in Russia and Germany where I made important discoveries in the field of calculus and topology. I introduced mathematic terminology and notation, particularly for mathematical analysis, such as the notation of mathematical function. The majority of my textbooks also represent mathematic in clear and orderly manner, “setting fashion in notation and method which have been influential to the present day”1.  At various times I used the notation f(x), e, π, i, Σ, though I was not in every case the first to do so. Another important thing was the representation of angles of triangle by A, B, C, and the corresponding sides as a, b, c, thus simplifying trigonometric formulas. euler3.jpg


  
Moreover, I defined the trigonometric values as a ratio, and the introduction of the modern notation.  I am considered to be the pre-eminent mathematician of the 18th century and one of the greatest of all time.  “Leonhard Euler is also one of the most prolific; his collected works fill 60-80 quarto volume.”2 One of my first textbooks was the introduction in analysis in “infinitorum” (1748). It was the first volume devoted to the theory of function, and in particular the exponential, logarithmic, and trigonometric function. The second volume also contains an analytical study of curve and surface. First I consider the general equation of the second degree in two dimensions, showing that it represents the various conic section; the discussion include a treatment of asymptotes, center of curvature, and higher degree.

Another of my outstanding textbook was the Vollstandige Anleintung Zur Algebra in 1770. It was the first Volume taking Algebra up to the cubic and bi-quadratic equation, while my second volume is devote to the theory of numbers. Many of the problems Results that I proved where stated by Pierre Fermat. The most famous position of Fermat was the general proof. It states that the equation xn +yn=zn has not solution in integer for n greater than 2. euler4.jpg        However, when I did the first attack on the problem, I demonstrated the theorem for n = 3 and n = 4. Another thing that Fermat also stated was the Diophantine equation x2 – ay2 = 1always has an infinity of solutions. Even though I wasn’t agree with him, I used successive solutions of the equation to compute approximation to Öa and, I found solutions of the equation by developing Öa as a continued fraction.   

    

  1 “Leonhard Euler” www.wikipedia.com

2 “Leonhard Euler” www.Google.com 

Work cited 

“Leonhard Euler.” Wikipidia, The free Encyclopedia. 20 mar 2007, 18:25 UTC. Wikimedia Foundation, inc. 21 mar 2007 <http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?

Title=Leonhard_Euler&oldid=116581440>

Byers, Paula k. “The Swiss mathematician Leonhard Euler (1707-1783) made important original contributions to every branch of mathematics studied in his day.”Leonhard Euler. 21 mar 2007. Thomson Gale.Nassau
Community College Library – SUNY.

J J O’Connor and E F Robertson. “ Biography of Leonhard Euler”. www.Google.com. 15, sept 2004. Monthly access. http://www-groups.dcs.st-and.acuk/~history/biographies/Euler.html.

2 Comments

Filed under Battle of the Minds

2 responses to “Leonhard Euler

  1. Pingback: Modern Notation « math is fun

  2. Pingback: Lenhard Euler : Modern Notation (ppt) « Information Literacy for MAT 225

Leave a comment